Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Building ohNet for Mac OS X
30-01-2012, 07:21 AM
Building ohNet for Mac OS X
I'm getting user requests for MinimServer on Mac OS X, so I'd like to build libohNet.so and libohNetJni.so for Mac OS X. I've arranged to borrow a Mac for doing that and testing the results.

Before I start work on this, I'd like to confirm that the current codebase builds and runs on Mac OS X. Any suggestions for what I need to do to set up a suitable build environment would be very helpful, as I've never used a Mac before.

Thanks!

Simon
Find all posts by this user
30-01-2012, 10:44 AM
RE: Building ohNet for Mac OS X
Simon,

I can confirm that the current codebase builds and runs on Mac OS X (we currently use the Mac build for SongCast).

The Java build hasn't been tested, so there may be some issues. This is on our todo list, but happy to accept any patches in the meantime Smile.

Perhaps one thing to look out for is if GCC is installed. If not, it's probably best to download Xcode.

You can download this for free here: http://developer.apple.com/technologies/tools/
You will need to create an Apple ID if you don't have one already.

To build, it's just the basic "make" command in terminal on the root directory of ohnet.

To attempt to build for java, the command is "make ohNetJavaAll"

Cheers

Chris
31-01-2012, 10:57 AM
HI Chris,
Thanks very much! I'll keep you informed of progress.

Simon
19-03-2012, 10:31 PM
Here's the list of changes that I needed to apply to Makefile to get ohNet (including Java support) to build and run OK under Mac OS X.

1) In line 22, replace
Code:
linkopts_ohNet =
by
Code:
linkopts_ohNet = -Wl,-install_name,@loader_path/libohNet.so

This change is essential to enable libohNetJni.so to work correctly. It's the Mac OS X equivalent of the -Wl,-soname,libohNet.so option that needed to be added for Linux.

2) In lines 105 and 106, replace
Code:
includes_jni = -I$(JAVA_HOME)/include -I$(JAVA_HOME)/include/linux